Russia 17, Marking the Centenary of the Russian Revolution: Peter Donohoe (piano)

17/10/2017, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


On 17 October 2017, almost a century to the day, Cardiff University School of Music marks the centenary of the 1917 Russian Revolution, joining arts organisations across Wales in this autumn’s commemorative feast of Russian music and culture.

World renowned pianist Peter Donohoe takes us on a journey of eighty years of virtuoso Russian music in a programme juxtaposing the brooding expressivity of Scriabin and Rachmaninov with the acerbic yet lyrical Stravinsky, the burning fervour of Prokofiev and more contemplative Shostakovich before culminating with Mussorgsky’s gargantuan Pictures at an Exhibition. From his unprecedented success at the 1982 International Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow, Peter Donohoe has become recognised not only as one of the great pianists of our time, but also one of the leading exponents of music by Russian composers, his recordings of Rachmaninov, the complete Scriabin and Prokofiev Sonatas, as well as many works by Shostakovich and Stravinsky, achieving international acclaim.

Setting the recital programme in a broader context, Russian-music expert Professor Marina Frolova-Walker, author of Russian Music and Nationalism from Glinka to Shostakovich (Yale, 2007) and Stalin’s Music Prize: Soviet culture and Politics (Yale, 2016), will talk about musical life in Stalin’s Soviet Union.

A pre-concert talk with Peter Donohoe and Marina Frolova-Walker, chaired by Caroline Rae, introduces the recital itself.

 4.30pm John Bird Lecture    

Boyd Lecture Theatre, Music Building

Professor Marina Frolova-Walker (Cambridge University) – Stalin’s Playlist 

 6.15pm Pre-Concert Talk with Peter Donohoe and Marina Frolova-Walker

Concert Hall, Music Building

Join Peter Donohoe, Marina Frolova-Walker and Caroline Rae to explore the music of this evening’s recital.

7.00pm Piano Recital – Peter Donohoe

Concert Hall, Music Building

Scriabin: Sonata No.2 (1898)

Stravinsky: Serenade in A (1925)

Rachmaninov: Preludes Nos. 1-5 from Op.23 (1901-3)

Prokofiev: Sonata No.3 (1917)

Shostakovich: Preludes and Fugues Nos. 6 in B minor and 7 in A major (1950-1)

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition (1874)


£10, £8, students and under 18s free entry

Book places

The venue

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road
CF10 3EB

International Piano Series

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.