Rachmaninov: Raymond Clarke (piano)

08/10/2019, 7:00 pm - 8:45 pm


Piano Sonata No. 1 in D minor, Op. 28

Three Études-Tableaux Op. 39 nos. 2, 3 & 5

Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36 (original version)

Raymond Clarke (piano)

This is a rare opportunity to hear Rachmaninov’s two monumental piano sonatas performed in the same recital. The expansive First Sonata is the longest and most elaborate of all Rachmaninov’s works for solo piano and is seldom played publicly; it was composed mainly in 1907, shortly before the Third Concerto, and shares some of the features of that work. Although the Second Sonata is usually heard in the composer’s revised edition, in this recital it will be performed in the original 1913 version, which is considerably longer and more intricate than the composer’s later revision.


Standard ticket £10, concession £8, students and under 18s free entry.

Book places

The venue

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road
CF10 3EB

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.