International Quartet Series: Graffe Quartet

30/01/2016, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Pavel Haas: String Quartet no. 2 ‘From the Monkey Mountains’

Pavel Haas: String Quartet no. 3

The Czechoslovak composer, Pavel Haas, synthesised in fascinating ways the idiosyncratic, folk-inspired compositional style of his mentor Leoš Janáček with the ideas underpinning the international avant-garde movements of the inter-war era.  Sadly, the composer’s life ended in Auschwitz and his surviving work tends to be regarded one-sidedly through the association with the Holocaust.  This concert represents the diversity of character within Haas’s work: while the early string quartet From the Monkey Mountains (1925) reflects the light-hearted atmosphere of the ‘roaring’ 1920s, the relatively late String Quartet no. 3 (1937-38) betrays growing anxiety, inspired by the impending threat of Nazism.

The meanings encoded in these works will be explored with commentary by Martin Čurda (studying for a PhD at Cardiff University). The concert is part of the Pavel Haas Study Day – the first UK conference focusing specifically on this composer.


Tickets: £8, £6 Free entry for students and under 18s

Book places

The venue

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road
CF10 3EB

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.