Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra, Mark Eager (conductor)

31/03/2019, 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra

Ana Beatriz Ferreira  | piano  Mark Eager | conductor


Karl Jenkins | Llareggub

Joly Braga Santos | Piano Concerto (1973)

Cardiff University Alumni | new work

Dvořák | Symphony no. 9 ‘From the New World’


To celebrate Sir Karl Jenkins’ 75th birthday, the Symphony Orchestra will perform Llareggub.  Sir Karl, an alumnus of Cardiff University School of Music, composed the piece as a musical snapshot of life in the fictional village setting of Dylan Thomas’s Under Milk Wood. The three movements, Starless and Bible-Black, Eli Jenkins’ Prayer, and At the Sailor’s Arms, are played without break.   Dvořák composed his ninth symphony the year after he arrived in America, influenced by the culture in which he found himself, so different to his own.


Tickets: £8, £10 for two, £5 students and under 18s NB Tickets on sale from 1 December 2018

Book places

The venue

St David's Hall
The Hayes
CF10 1AH

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.