Cardiff University Symphony Chorus: Rachmaninov: All-night Vigil ‘Vespers’

26/03/2015, 8:00 pm - 9:15 pm

In the Orthodox Church it is said that the mind should enter the heart. There can be no better illustration of the meaning of this phrase than Rachmaninoff’s sublime setting of the Russian Orthodox all-night vigil, more often referred to as Rachmaninoff’s Vespers.  In an era of radical music development, as epitomised by Schoenberg and Webern, Rachmaninoff’s work can be considered both conservative and quintessentially Russian. Composed during just two weeks of February 1915, the timeless beauty of the All-night Vigil, some surmise that this work is Rachmaninoff’s response to the brutal violence and injustice of war throughout Europe.

Rachmaninoff’s work is a choral symphony in fifteen movements of which the ninth, the story of the Resurrection, is the central dramatic point, it is the znamenny chant from this anthem which he later used in the Symphonic Dances.


Tickets £10, £8, £3

Book places

The venue

National Museum of Wales, Cardiff
National Museum of Wales

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.