Cardiff University Chamber Choir

29/04/2016, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Cardiff University Chamber Choir

John Hugh Thomas (conductor)

Robert Court (organ)

Robert Ramsey:      Three motets

James MacMillan:  Three motets

Kenneth Leighton:  Easter Sequence

Eric Whitacre:         Sleep

Lux aurumque

Lauridsen:               Lux aeterna


Cardiff University Chamber Choir continues its time-travelling adventure with works from the sixteenth-century via twentieth-century Britain to modern-day America. Robert Ramsay and Sir James MacMillan, Scottish composers born four centuries apart, are united in this programme with performances of their motets. Kenneth Leighton’s Easter Sequence is written in his distinctive compositional voice, characterized by rich, lush harmonies, subtle dissonance, rhythmic energy and a lilting, angular lyricism. American-born composers Eric Whitacre and Morten Lauridsen surround us with eternal and golden light, sending us to sleep.


Tickets: £8, £6 Free entry for students and under 18s

Book places

The venue

Llandaff Cathedral

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.