Back to Bach 4: Chiara Bertoglio (piano)

27/01/2015, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

  • J S Bach: Concerto no. 3 in D minor BWV 974 (based on an oboe concerto by Alessandro Marcello)
  • J S Bach (attributed): Italian Concerto BWV 971
  • J S Bach/Brahms: Chaconne from the Violin Partita n. 2, BWV 1004, transcribed for the left hand
  • J S Bach/Busoni: Goldberg Variations BWV 988

Chiara Bertoglio, concert pianist and musicologist, studied at the Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the University of Venice and the University of Birmingham. In this programme of J S Bach’s music,  Chiara  includes transcriptions by Brahms and Busoni who both revered his work. Brahms wrote of the Chaconne BWV1004, “On one stave, for a small instru­ment, the man writes a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings.”  Busoni’s version of the ‘Goldberg’ Variations is a fine example of his admiration for Bach and also captures his capacity to modernise the work, making full use of the piano, while keeping the original feel of the ‘baroque’.

‘…a pleasure from the first to the last note!’ Die Krone


£10, £8, £3

Book places

The venue

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road
CF10 3EB

Back to Bach

Share this event

Save to your calendar

Save this event to your calendar of choice.